ISO 55000: Creating and Implementing an Asset Management Strategy

The ISO 55000 series establishes a global standard for asset management systems. The overarching framework is defined within four documents of the asset management system described in ISO 55001:

1. Asset management policy

2. Asset management objectives

3. Asset management strategy

4. Asset management plans

The methodology presented here is from experienced reliability professionals who have implemented all of the elements of the ISO 55000 standard for organizations in many industries around the globe. It is also important to understand that this is the first management system standard to use ISO/IEC Directives, Part 1, Consolidated ISO Supplement – Procedures Specific to ISO as its foundation. This “Annex SL”, as it is more commonly referred to, is the former ISO Guide 83. Standard components include Context, Leadership, Planning, Support, Operation, Performance Evaluation and Improvement. All future management standards, such as the ISO 9000 series due out next year, will follow this format.

© Life Cycle Engineering, Inc.

For More Information

843.744.7110 |

Share This

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn Share via email